A native of Saltspring Island, British Columbia, Craig Galbraith studied composition at the University of Toronto with Christos Hatzis earning his DMA in 2012. He has also studied with Gary Kulesha, Gustav Ciamaga, Stephen Chatman, Michael Tenzer and David G. Duke. Mr. Galbraith has won several awards including the Karen Keiser Prize in Canadian New Music and first prize in SOCAN’s Hugh Le Caine Award, for an electroacoustic work, Silhouette.  He was also a prize winner in CBC’s National Competition for Young Composers, and received its People's Choice award. He performs frequently as a tenor with various choral ensembles, and until recently, sat on the Artistic Directorship of the Canadian Contemporary Music Workshop (CCMW), an entity dedicated to promoting emerging composers. Mr. Galbraith is an associate composer with the Canadian Music Centre.

Galbraith's music has been performed by many distinguished artists and has been broadcast frequently on CBC radio.  He has received numerous prestigious commissions, including those for Soundstreams, the Elmer Iseler Singers and Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir, the Gryphon Trio, musica intima, and Tapestry New Opera Works.

Awards and Distinctions

2005 Maurice Wayman Prize (Massey College)
Karen Kieser Prize in Canadian New Music for The Fenian Cycle
McLean Foundation Graduate Merit Schorlarship
2001 Second place, CBC National Competition for Young Composers 2000-2001 for Silhouette. (Electroacoustic Category)
Hugh Le Caine Award: 1st place, SOCAN Awards for Young Composer for Silhouette.
1999, 1998 University of Toronto Fellowship recipient
1999, 1998 Elected Massey College Junior Fellow
1999 Massey College Bursary
1998 Godfrey Ridout Award: 2nd place (no 1st awarded), SOCAN Awards for Young Composers for Super flumina.


Doctor of Music Composition, University of Toronto
Master of Music Composition, University of Toronto
Bachelor of Music Composition, University of British Columbia
Music Diploma : Composition/Voice, Vancouver Community College